Loading Events

The leading Cyprological journal The Cyprus Review announces the results of its Annual Book Awards for books published in 2022.

A. History and Political Science

  • Scientific Committee: Emilios Solomou, Petros Papapolyviou, Michalis Kontos, Giorgos Charalambous, and Anastasia Yiangou.
  • The Stanley Kyriakides Award is conferred to Nicos Moudouros for his book:
    Διεκδικώντας την πατρίδα, Η Τουρκοκυπριακη αντιπολίτευση την περίοδο 1964-2004 (Ψηφίδες)
  • The Junior Researcher Award is conferred to Beatrice Pestarino for her book: Kyprion Politeia: The Political and Administrative Systems of the Classical Cypriot City-Kingdom (Brill).

B. Social Sciences  

  • Scientific Committee: Constantinos Phellas, Ioanna Hadjicosti, Stavroulla Soukara, Christina Hadjisoteriou, and Sofia Iordanidou.
  • The Peter Loizos Award is conferred to Maria Mathaiou and Argyro Xenofontos for their book: Τα Παραμύθια της Κύπρου (Κέντρο Επιστημονικών Ερευνών).
  • Honourable Mention is conferred to Nicoletta Demetriou for her book: Ο Κύπριος Βιολάρης. Η Προφορική Ιστορία μιας επαγγελματικής τάξης στον εικοστό αιώνα (Ψηφίδες).

C. Law

  • Scientific Committee: Achilles Emilianides, Christos Papastylianos, Christia Middleton, Elias Stephanou, and Stergios Mitas.
  • The Junior Researcher Award is conferred to Maria Kyprianou for her book: Η Ρύθμιση της Πορνείας στην Κύπρο (Νομική Βιβλιοθήκη).

D. Lifetime Achievement Award

  • The Editor-in-Chief of the CR Christina Ioannou has decided, after careful review of the relevant suggestions, to confer the Lifetime Achievement Award to Polyvios Polyviou in recognition of his significant body of published work, especially on Cypriot public and private law.

Award Ceremony

The award ceremony will be held on 31.10.2023 at 18.30 at Unesco Amphitheatre.

RSVP by 30 October at [email protected]

The Call for External Nominations for the 2024 CRABA will be published in early November 2023.

Share This, Choose Your Platform!

Go to Top