Royal Commonwealth Society (RCS) – Cyprus

On 26 June 1868, a group of individuals in London established a ‘literary and scientific body’ dedicated to the greater understanding of what were then British colonies. A year later it was granted a Royal Charter from Queen Victoria, elevating it to the level of other royal societies. In 2018, after a number of name and venue changes, The Royal Commonwealth Society (RCS) will be celebrating its 150th year as the oldest and largest organisation dedicated to the Commonwealth. On April 2017 the RCS established a Cypriot Branch which is situated and administered in the University of Nicosia premises. The affiliation of the Branch with the University of Nicosia, which is the largest university in Cyprus, will contribute towards the promotion of the principles and values of the RCS and the Commonwealth in general in co-operation with the RCS headquarters. The Dean of the School of Law of the University, Professor Achilles Emilianides will be heading the Branch within the spirit of the charter of the RCS.

Visit website