The NEOLAiA European University Alliance is funded with €14.4 million from the European Commission for 4 years (2024-2028), under the European University Alliances programme. The Alliance’s motto is “Transforming Regions for an Inclusive Europe”.

The Alliance stands for 3 Pillars:
1) Digital Transformation,
2) Diversity and Inclusion and
3) Enhanced Mobility.

Together with the University of Nicosia, the network includes top, young, outward-looking and innovative universities, ranked among the best universities in the world according to the main university rankings: University of Jaén, Spain; University of Tours, France; Bielefeld University, Germany; Örebro University, Sweden; University of Salerno, Italy; Šiauliai State University of Applied Sciences, Lithuania; “Ştefan Cel Mare” University of Suceava, Romania; and University of Ostrava, Czech Republic.

The Institute for the Future has assumed a substantial role in the implementation of the Alliance’s vision, as the leader of the “Digital Transformation” Work Package, as well as co-leader of the “Adopting and Sustaining Open Science” Work Package.

IFF is responsible for introducing the metaverse to 9 campuses in 9 countries across Europe by offering a course on and in the Metaverse and establishing metaverse labs to provide European citizens with practical metaverse skills.