Welcome Message

Welcome to the Computer Science Department

The Department of Computer Science educates the future scientists who will contribute to changing the landscapes of computer science and data science. It offers degrees in all levels within the field: BSc, MSc and PhD in Computer Science, as well as the recent cutting-edge degrees: BSc and MSc in Data Science. The two Data Science programmes are designed to prepare students for employment opportunities in one of the ten most in-demand job specializations globally. Our Computer Science programs expose the students to current and emerging trends and prepare them for a wide variety of computer-oriented careers, such as research, development, management, and teaching, in the rapidly expanding field of Computer Science, a field that has a profound impact in modern societies and economies.  At the same time, the Department is committed to research excellence by undertaking cutting-edge research in the fields that drive the 4th Industrial revolution, fields such as Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning, Data Science, Internet of Things, Blockchain Technologies, Data Security and Privacy. Computer Science will play an increasingly important role for nearly every other academic discipline (ranging from political science, journalism, economics to biology and medicine). The Department is committed to educating the broader community with the essential Computer Science and Data Science knowledge to meet the demands in their respective fields.

All our undergraduate and graduate programs have been designed to reflect state-of-the-art practices in the area of Computer Science and Data Science, following model curricula guidelines such as the ACM/IEEE. The European Credit Transfer System’s (ECTS) guidelines are also followed and its requirements are completed as part of any program update.

The Department of Computer Science offers the following six programs:

  1. BSc in Computer Science (4-year, 240 ECTS)
  2. BSc in Data Science (4-year, 240 ECTS)
  3. MSc in Computer Science (concentrations: (a) Cyber Security (b) Mobile Systems (c) Blockchain Technologies (3 semesters, 90 ECTS)
  4. MSc in Computer Science- Distance Learning (concentrations: (a) Cyber Security (b) Mobile Systems (c) Blockchain Technologies) (3 semesters, 90 ECTS)
  5. MSc in Data Science – Distance Learning (3 semesters, 90 ECTS)
  6. PhD in Computer Science (3 years, 180 ECTS)

During your studies, my colleagues and I will be here to help you in any way we can. We look forward to welcoming you to our Department. On behalf of the faculty of the Department of Computer Science, we wish you every success in your studies and a rewarding and enjoyable time at the University of Nicosia.

Professor Athena Stassopoulou
Head of Computer Science Department

Email: [email protected]
Phone: (+357) 22841648
Office: Room B224, 2nd floor, main building