ISSL 2021-22

Agenda

11 June 2021

Welcome

2:00 PM BST | 4:00 PM EEST | 3:00 PM SAST | 7:00 AM PDT | 9:00 AM ET

10′ break

Parallel Sessions

3:30 PM BST | 5:30 PM EEST | 4:30 PM SAST | 8:30 AM PDT | 10:30 AM ET

10′ break

Lightning Rounds

5:10 PM BST | 7:10 PM EEST | 6:10 PM SAST | 9:10 AM PDT | 12:10 PM ET

5:22 PM BST | 7:22 PM EEST | 6:22 PM SAST | 9:22 AM PDT | 12:22 PM ET

5:34 PM BST | 7:34 PM EEST | 6:34 PM SAST | 9:34 AM PDT | 12:34 PM ET

5:45 PM BST | 7:45 PM EEST | 6:45 PM SAST | 9:45 AM PDT | 12:45 PM ET

5:57 PM BST | 7:57 PM EEST | 6:57 PM SAST | 9:57AM PDT | 12:57 PM ET

Closing Session

6:15 PM BST | 8:15 PM EEST | 7:15 PM SAST | 11:15 AM PDT | 1:15 PM ET

Featured Presentation Session Information

Fundamentals of Community-Engaged Course Design

Laura Weaver, Indiana Campus Compact
Andri Vrioni, University of Nicosia

Featured Presentation Slot: (i)

Session Abstract:

Engagement in and with communities is at the core of most university missions, including language around public service, the creation of knowledge in order to solve problems both locally and globally, as well as preparing students as democratic citizens (Ward, 1996). This session will provide participants with a brief overview of the community engagement movement in higher education and is designed for those new to service-learning. It will cover basic definitions, the standards of good practice for course design, and provide useful tools for faculty looking to incorporate community-based projects into their course.

Implementing Equitable Relationships within Critical Service-Learning

Kiesha Warren-Gordon, Ball State University

Featured Presentation Slot: (ii)

Session Abstract:

During this session, we examine the importance of establishing equitable relationships with community partners in service-learning and community engagement experiences. In this workshop, I highlight ways in which Critical Service-Learning (CSL) is utilized to create meaningful community-engaged experiences that are aimed at disrupting deficit-driven perceptions of the community members with whom we collaborate. CSL, as a framework, centers on three tenets: building authentic relationships, working from a social change framework, and redistributing power (Mitchell, 2008). Participants in this deep dive will walk away with: a) a comprehensive perspective of CSL, b) a deeper sense of positionality, power, and privilege in relation to community-engaged work, c) explicit understandings of the challenges and ethics embedded in community-engaged partnerships, and d) understanding of the importance of developing equitable relationships.

The Institutionalisation of Service-Learning at SU: From Community Interaction to Social Impact – Part A

Ernestine Meyer-Adams, Stellenbosch University
Jacob Du Plessis, Stellenbosch University
Henry Mbaya, Stellenbosch University
Lesley Welman, Stellenbosch University
Zelda Barends, Stellenbosch University
Pamela Kierman, Stellenbosch University
Felicia Lesch, Stellenbosch University
Rehana Malgus-Enus, Stellenbosch University
Annelin Molotsi, Stellenbosch University
Agatha Lebethe, Stellenbosch University

Featured Presentation Slot: (iii)

Session Abstract:

Stellenbosch University proudly presents a video on the Institutionalisation of Service-Learning. Following the end of the video presentation, participants will be able to interact with the concepts, ask questions and discuss how innovative approaches to service-learning at an institutional level contribute to community growth.

Please note: Session will link to the lightning round session 5B where an opportunity with the presenters of Part A and Part B will be made possible for feedback and further engagement.

Lightning Round Session Information

Hungry for Change: Transforming students into impactful leaders

Sotiris Hji-Avgoustis, Ball State University

Lightning Round Session Slot: 1A

Session Abstract:

The present study attempts to identify students’ perceptions of the importance of the experiential learning elements compared to their performance. As a case of experiential learning program, a capstone restaurant management course that addresses community food insecurity issues was selected for this study because of its popularity and efficiency for facilitating service-learning experiences at the university level. Importance-performance analysis (IPA) was employed to identify respondents’ perceptual mapping in terms of experiential learning elements in restaurant management education. The primary results reveal that respondents perceived most of the practical skills and interpersonal skills as high in performance and importance.

Is Now the time to Consider Ethical Principles in Service-Learning?

Julie Gahimer, University of Indianapolis

Anne Mejia-Downs, College of Saint Mary

Lightning Round Session Slot: 1B

Session Abstract:

As service learning has become more prevalent in higher education, it is important to make sure ethical principles are incorporated. Faculty members have been under ethical oversight of Institutional Review Boards when conducting research. Similar standards should be considered when students interact with communities. Participants will learn strategies to address ethical issues throughout the service-learning experience.

Basic ethical principles should be in the forefront of conducting service-learning activities. Detailed contracts are essential components of the service-learning activity. In addition, activities can be designed to promote student reflection on ethical principles, which may lead to enhanced social responsibility.

Building Empowerment: Realizing Transformational Works with Scavenged Means

Scott Shall, Lawrence Technological University

Lightning Round Session Slot: 1C

Session Abstract:

During the summer of 2019, a small, interdisciplinary team traveled to South Africa, where they partnered with local groups to design and construct an event- and maker-space from scavenged materials. Completed by a team of eleven in only ten days and with a budget of only $1500, this work has provided a roadmap for the community to realize other much-needed projects. To assist in this, a second interdisciplinary team partnered with these communities remotely in 2020 (due to travel restrictions) to use this work’s approach to design schools, clinics, and other much-needed works.

Taken together, these distinct models of community-based design work – one completed using the direct, experimental techniques of the bricoleur to unlock the promise of scavenged materials and the other conducted remotely using sophisticated digital tools – offer a productive pathway toward a more sophisticated, grounded and technologically-savvy form of socially-responsive design practice.

The impact of learning pedagogies such as service-learning and active-citizenship learning on a culture of democracy in students’ attitudes

Ingrid Geier, University of Teacher Education Salzburg Stefan Zweig

Ulla Hasager, University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa

Lightning Round Session Slot: 2A

Session Abstract:

Service learning (SL) and Active Citizenship Learning (ACL) are promising pedagogies to focus on the democratic and intercultural competence as a key competence of the 21st century. A research project between the University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa and the University of Education Salzburg shows how these pedagogies promote democratic awareness and associated values of students. Using a mixed-method design by linking a quantitative survey (N = 96) and focus group discussion (N=23) we will point out that they support a culture of democracy in terms of students’ knowledge on issues of social justice and their attitude to contribute own competencies to society.

C.A.R.E. – A new Framework for Critical Service-Learning in Teacher Development

Dr Niki Christodoulou, University of Nicosia

Lightning Round Session Slot: 2B

Session Abstract:

In an action inquiry study at a private university in Cyprus, five English as a Foreign Language (EFL) teachers and the researcher-mentor systematically engaged in a reflective exploration of the ‘self’ and practice in a service-learning context. Using qualitative data collection methods, the teachers engaged in dialogical and collaborative interactions in a non-judgmental environment. From the above study, the Collaborative, Appreciative, Reflective, Enquiry (C.A.R.E.) model of teacher development emerged. This presentation offers the key elements of the C.A.R.E. Model which, when implemented by staff and organisations, can create co-educational relationships and positive emotions – the primary catalysts for transformational service-learning.

Successful Service-Learning During COVID-19 Pandemic

Elizabeth S. Moore, University of Indianapolis

Lightning Round Session Slot: 2C

Session Abstract:

Many higher education programs have been disrupted by the COVID-19 pandemic. COVID-19 restrictions required academic institutions to adjust many of their programs including service-learning. For service-learning activities to be successful during the pandemic, it required instructors and community partners to be creative in developing an experience that not only engaged students, but also benefited the community partner. To develop successful service-learning experiences during the pandemic, it required re-envisioning hallmark components of service-learning including connection and reflection. This presentation will give examples of how several academic institutions reimaged components of service-learning to create successful service-learning activities while meeting COVID-19 restrictions. In addition, a link to resources that address the impact of COVID-19 on service-learning will be provided.

Small Program, Big Impact

Ron Nicholson, Ivy Tech Community College, Lawrenceburg/Batesville campus

Lightning Round Session Slot: 3A

Session Abstract:

The strength of our service-learning program is our size. We are small, rural area. Because of this we have limited resources, but we also have the advantage of being able to be hands-on. We work with our community partners everyday. Thus, we are able to see a need and respond to it quickly. This session will highlight how we have made our program a consequential presence in our community. It will look at our origin story, how our program was built, how we onboarded faculty, and how we achieved by-in from students.

Critical Service-Learning: A guide for beginners

Jennifer VanSickle, University of Indianapolis

Laura Weaver, Indiaa Campus Compact

Lindsey Payne, Purdue University

Lightning Round Session Slot: 3B

Session Abstract:

Service-learning has been proven to be an effective teaching method and has been used to teach civic education, moral development, and career-related skills. However, if not carefully designed, SL projects can also do more harm than good by reinforcing stereotypes, increasing Salvationism or ethnocentrism, or unknowingly deepening unconscious bias. This session will introduce the topic of critical service-learning to and provide information to faculty and administrators about how they might approach critical-service-learning in their own teaching. Additionally, presenters will create a space, via a Google Document, for attendees to continue to the conversation about transitioning to critical service-learning.

Managing Service-learning projects during a crisis – lessons from an MBA programme

Dr Johan Jordaan, North-West University Business School

Lightning Round Session Slot: 3C

Session Abstract:

In this presentation the changes that had to be made to service-learning projects during a lockdown scenario are discussed. The paper/presentation starts with a short description of the original design of the service-learning project, followed by an analysis of the environmental changes during lockdown that affect service-learning projects. The principles that were included in the new changed format of the project are discussed, followed by the actual design of the redesigned project. The research was done through qualitative methods and the findings are elucidated. Finally, the paper ends with lessons learnt (conclusions) and recommendations to include in the design of future service-learning projects.

A reflection on 20 years of service learning in higher education.

Mark Drnach, Wheeling University

Craig Ruby, Seton Hill University

Carrie Abraham, Wheeling University

Lightning Round Session Slot: 4A

Session Abstract:

The focus of this lightning session is to present an outline of the 20 year evolution of a strong, structured and successful multi-level (local, regional and international) service learning program in higher education designed to foster the development of professional self in graduate students, meet program accreditation requirements and support institutional mission. Social values, attitudes, roles and responsibilities of health care professionals will be explored.

Equity in Critical Service-Learning

Kiesha Warren-Gordon, Ball State University

Lightning Round Session Slot: 4B

Session Abstract:

This lighting round focuses on understanding of equitable relationships in Critical Service-Learning (CSL) experiences. During this lighting round, I argue that community partners, university faculty, staff, and students participating in CSL must first examine their own biases in order to develop meaningful programs that equitable and based in reciprocity. These types of relationships are built by taking time to reflect honestly upon their own identity and positionality in relation to the community stakeholders with whom they are entering into collaborative relationships. Examination of self in relation to one’s position is critical to unpacking underlying prejudices and analyzing assumptions of others

Service Learning Integrated Across a Doctor of Physical Therapy Curriculum-Now Virtual!

Jennifer Biggs, Saint Catherine University

Lightning Round Session Slot: 4C

Session Abstract:

This session will describe how service-learning experiences are threaded into multiple courses across a Doctor of Physical Therapy (DPT) curriculum. The service-learning curricular thread culminates with DPT and Physical Therapist Assistant students collaborating in a two-week immersion experience just prior to graduation. In 2020, this immersion was quickly changed to a virtual format due to Minnesota being in a COVID-19 shutdown. This presented both opportunities and challenges. Examples of modules will be shared, including: historical housing inequities, social justice during a global pandemic, and historical trauma. Qualitative and quantitative student outcomes were overwhelmingly positive and will be discussed.

Building Communities of Practice (CoP) to maximize the impact of clean sport education in Cyprus

Stella A. Nicolaou, University of Nicosia

Michael Petrou, Cyprus Anti-Doping Authority

Lambros Lazuras, Sheffield Hallam University

Nicos L. Kartakoullis, University of Nicosia

Lightning Round Session Slot: 5A

Session Abstract:

The abstract will remain as is except for a small change in the event that will now take the form of an online work shop rather than a face-to-face one. Specifically: ‘Methodology: Following training needs analysis CyADA and UNRF delivered a workshop with CoP members in Cyprus and defined the community’s focus and goals. In three subsequent meetings students used validated empirical literature on doping prevention, reflected on the process and, together with academic experts and anti-doping practitioners, designed an event to promote best practices for clean sport education. The event will take the form of an online workshop that will allow the sharing of experience within the CoP whilst promoting the knowledge on anti-doping and performance enhancement without doping. The outcomes of the CoP will be evaluated with a mixed methods design.’

The Institutionalisation of Service-Learning at SU: Ukwanda Centre for Rural Health – Part B

Lindsay-Michelle Meyer, Stellenbosch University
Jana Müller, Stellenbosch University

Lightning Round Session Slot: 5B

Session Abstract:

Ukwanda Centre for Rural Health was established to meet the needs of rural and underserved communities through health professions education in South Africa. This is achieved through collaborative service-learning projects and community-based education, of which the annual Community Partnership Function, a celebratory event is one.

CREFEGE: A Transformational Change Catalyser for Communal Emancipation

MOHAMAD-FADL HARAKE, University of Poitiers – CEREGE EA 1722 – France

VIRGINIE NAHAS, American University of the Middle East (AUM) – Kuwait

Lightning Round Session Slot: 5C

Session Abstract:

Linking transformational change management to conscious change leadership this presentation explores the implication & impact of both higher education entities (AUF) on today’s young researchers as well as the influence of International organizations in producing sustainable-non-profitable projects that have communal impact. The idea of CREFEGE was conceptualized in late 2015 by doctoral students and born out of a partnership with AUF (Agence Universitaire de la Francophonie). The project presents a free open space for research discussions, advice seeking, upcoming seminars, call for papers as well as job opportunities on an international level.