The bloxberg blockchain was established through a collaboration between Max Planck and nine universities worldwide. These institutions include The University of Nicosia, IT Copenhagen, UCL, University of Belgrade, Carnegie Mellon, Georgia Tech, Unikassel Versitat, University of Johannesburg, and University of Sarajevo.

Bloxberg stands as a blockchain designed by and for the scientific community, boasting the largest PoA network globally and exclusively operated by research organizations. Its primary objective is to propel scientific progress through its dedicated blockchain infrastructure and to empower society at large to safeguard data through the reputational proof provided by research organizations worldwide.

Driven by this mission, the bloxberg Association facilitates and expedites the decentralized bloxberg blockchain and the scientific applications built atop it. Currently, the association comprises over 55 research institutions, each operating an authority node on the network. It assumes responsibility for the operation and upkeep of the network's foundational infrastructure, with all rights and obligations delineated in the comprehensive bloxberg governance model.

Decentralized applications running on the bloxberg platform can be developed by third-party entities, association/consortium members, scientists, and others. The bloxberg Association actively supports the creation of applications that enrich the scientific ecosystem.

The core activities of the bloxberg Association involve:

  • a network of international research organizations in the field of blockchain technology
  • the operation and the further development of the bloxberg blockchain
  • fostering the exchange among the scientific blockchain community
  • the establishment and deepening of international contacts
  • exchange of experiences between science, business, technology, administration, and the judiciary