Dr Erato Kozakou-Marcoullis

Dr Erato Kozakou−Marcoullis served as Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Cyprus in the government of President Demitris Christofias from 5 August 2011 until 28 February 2013 . Dr Marcoullis, as Minister of Foreign Affairs during the Presidency of Cyprus of the Council of the European Union during the second part of 2012 (July-December 2012) played an active and instrumental role for the successful outcome of the Cyprus Presidency.

Dr Marcoullis had also served in the same government of President Christofias as Minister of Communications and Works from 2 March 2010 to 4 of August 2011, with responsibilities in Transport, Public Works, Civil Aviation, Merchant Shipping, Postal Services, Archaeology and Electronic Communications.

Dr Kozakou-Marcoullis served also as Minister of Foreign Affairs in the government of the late President Tassos Papadopoulos from July 2007 to end of February 2008. Along with President Papadopoulos, she had the honour to sign the Treaty of Lisbon on behalf of Cyprus in December 2007.

From May 2008 to March 2010 Dr Marcoullis was Head of the Working Group on Property in the UN−sponsored negotiations between the Greek and Turkish Cypriot communities. During the current negotiating process Dr Marcoullis was appointed by President Nicos Anastasiades to Head once again the Working Group on Property and assist the negotiator during the discussion of the property issue.

During 2003−2007 Dr Marcoullis served as Director of the Cyprus Question and the EU−Turkey Affairs Division at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs. From 2005-2007 she was also accredited as Ambassador to Lebanon and Jordan with residence in Nicosia.
She had previously served as Ambassador to the United States of America from 1998 to 2003 (Bill Clinton and George W. Bush Presidencies), with concurrent accreditation as High Commissioner to Canada, Guyana, and Jamaica and as Ambassador to Brazil. She was also accredited to the World Bank, the IMF, ICAO and the Organization of American States.

From 1996 to 1998 she served as Ambassador to Sweden with concurrent accreditation to Finland, Norway, Denmark, Iceland, Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania.

She had previously served at the Permanent Mission of Cyprus to the United Nations from 1980 to 1988, the Cyprus Question Division of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs (1988−1993) and as Director of the Permanent Secretary’s Office (1993−1996). During her diplomatic career she also represented Cyprus in numerous Meetings, Assemblies, Congresses and Conferences of the United Nations, the Non−Aligned Movement, the Commonwealth, the Council of Europe, the OSCE, the European Union and others.