EH&S Committee and Subcommittees

Under the Health and Safety at Work Law, safety committees have the function of keeping under review the measures taken to ensure the health and safety at work of employees and others.



A Safety Committee would normally be expected:
To study accident reports and statistics and make recommendations to management on corrective action.
• To carry out safety inspections so that compliance with the declared safety policy can be monitored and if necessary advise management on any corrective action necessary.
• To consider reports made by enforcing authority inspectors e.g. Health and Safety Inspectors, Local Authority Inspectors, Fire Brigade Inspectors etc.
• To consider reports and inspections reports made by the Government or Trade Unions on health and safety issues.
• To help develop local safety rules, and systems of work including the University Safety Policy and to consider local problems.
• To watch over the effectiveness of employee safety training and health and safety communication and publicity in the workplace.
• To bring to the attention of other University groups concerned with Health and Safety suggestions, ideas etc on improving health and safety in the University Campus generally



The current members of the EH&S Committee are:



Dr Emilios Solomou

Executive Vice President for Administration

Ms Maria Stavrou

Environment, Health & Safety Officer

& Representative of the Risk Assessment Subcommittee

Dr Alexandros Antonaras

Institutional Excellence and Business Services

Ms Voula Makrides

Facilities Department

Ms Dina Hassabi

Institutional Excellence (Training and Development)

Ms Maria Odysseos

Ms Stella Demetriades

Human Resources

Dr Marios Valiantis

Mr Kyriakos Georgiou

Representative of the Environment Subcommittee

& Environment

Mr Ioannis Ioannou

Dr Dmitry Apraksin


Ms Myria Thrassou

Ms Andriana Adamantou

Ms Galina Yaneva

Student Affairs

Ms Maria Panagiotou

Dr Andreas Chrysanthou

Intercollege Nicosia

Ms Irene Alexandrou

Intercollege Larnaca

Ms Eftihia Neophytou

Intercollege Limassol

Mr Evangelos Stampolis

Ms Sue Chrysostomou

Medical School

Ms Liana Ellina

Head First Aider

Dr Dimitris Stasinos

Dr Stella Petronda

Representative of the Disability Subcommittee

Dr Ioannis Kyriakides

Dr Maria Leigh

Representative of the Laboratory Safety Subcommittee


Student Representative-Inter


Student Representative-UNic


Student Representative-Medical School

Ms Artemis Pavlidou

Ms Katia Agroti



Conduct and Safety Committees

The Environment, Health and Safety Committee will need to meet as frequently as business dictates. It should, in any case meet once per term. Dates of proposed meetings must be publicized to enable matters for the agenda to be submitted in time.
The minutes of the committee must be displayed / brought to the attention of all employees it covers.

It is most important to appreciate that the committee has no executive responsibility and is solely advisory. Any executive action recommended will be undertaken at the discretion of the Executive Vice President for Administration.

Environment, Health and Safety Subcommittees

In response to specific needs of the University subcommittees have been appointed. The role of these committees is to monitor and make suggestions for improvement in their corresponding area.


Environment Subcommittee

Dr Valiantis Marios (Chair)
Assistant Professor/Director of Environmental Unit/Ecognosia

Dr Antonaras Alexandros
Director of Institutional Excellence and Business Services

Ms Makrides Voula
Head of Facilities

Ms Stavrou Maria
Environment, Health and Safety Officer


Disabilities Subcommittee

Dr Stasinos Demetris (Chair)
Professor of Special Education

Dr Petronda Stella
Clinical Psychologist

Ms Ellina Liana
Head First Aider / Head Receptionist

Ms Loizidou Kalia

Ms Pelides Katia
Associate Lecturer of Nursing

Ms Perdikogianni Maria
Registered Psychologist, Student Counselor

Ms Thrassou Myria
Head of Student Affairs


Laboratory Safety Subcommittee

Dr Kyriakides Ioannis (Chair)
Assistant Professor of Electrical Computer Engineering

Dr Demoliou Kaiti
Professor of Biochemistry

Mr Orphanides Nicolaos
Program Coordinator of Culinary Arts

Dr Schou Chad
Laboratory Assistant, Medical Program

Mr Georgiou Michalis and Ms Korae Eva
Fabrication Laboratory Representative


Risk Assessment Subcommittee

Dr Solomou Emilios
Executive Vice President for Administration

Ms Makrides Voula
Head of Facilities

Ms Stavrou Maria
Environment, Health and Safety Officer

Dr Antonaras Alexandros
Director of Institutional Excellence and Business Services